• aussievision

Eurovision 2023 - All you need to know

The 67th edition of the Eurovision Song Contest will take place in the United Kingdom on behalf of Ukraine following that nation's win in 2022.

Unfortunately, due to the current situation in Ukraine, the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) said the conditions "were not met to guarantee the safety and security of everyone working and participating in the event".

When and where?

The UK will be the host nation but the city is yet to be determined. Seven cities have been shortlisted and they are:








The cities will submit their official bids on September 8 with a decision to be made by the BBC and the EBU in the autumn (anytime from September through to December).

The dates are yet to be confirmed but historically the Contest takes place in May.


No information is available on tickets, and won't be expected for some time as there is no host city or stadium confirmed.

Who is competing?

In total 27 nations have officially confirmed their participation including all big five nations of France, Germany, Italy, Spain, United Kingdom as well as last year's winners Ukraine.

Despite not officially hosting, Ukraine will automatically qualify for the Grand Final.

The final will be closer to 40, with many nations not officially confirming until later in the year.

Australia has not officially confirmed participation but already has an official invitation to take part, so will no doubt be competing in the UK in 2023.

Andorra, Luxembourg and Slovakia have all indicated they will not be returning to the Contest in 2023.

Israel is the only country to already confirm their artist, with Noa Kirel to participate.

For continued updates on all the Eurovision 2023 news follow Aussievision on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube. All links at: https://linktr.ee/aussievisionnet