top of page
  • Writer's pictureKyriakos Tsinivits

New music from Australian Eurovision artists - Sheppard, Jessica Mauboy and more

August has been a very busy month for new music releases from our past Australian Eurovision and ‘Eurovision - Australia Decides’ artists!

Today we go through all the latest music releases from the following artists:

Sheppard - ‘Lazy Love’

Released: 31 July 2020

Sheppard have had one very busy 2020 with their commitment to release a single every month this year. For July they released ‘Lazy Love’. This single sees Sheppard go for a slow rhythm with a great summer vibe and infectious chorus. They also released a hilarious music video for ‘Lazy Love’, check it out!

Didirri - ‘The Critic’

Released: 6 August 2020

Didirri’s latest single ‘The Critic’ was launched via a Zoom lunch session with his fans. He also announced that the new single is taken from his new EP ‘Sold For Sale’ set for release on September 25. In Didirri's own words, 'The Critic' is essentially about "when you think you’re getting everything right when you’re actually getting everything wrong”.

Didirri will be performing in Iso-Aid 24 on August 30, with a huge line up of artists. For details check out @isoaidfestival on Instagram.

Kate Miller-Heidke - ‘Deluded’

Released: 6 August 2020

'Deluded’ is Kate Miller-Heidke’s second single from her highly anticipated fifth studio album ‘Child In Reverse’, set for release on October 30. As part of The Sound, a music series on ABC, Kate Miller-Heidke performed ‘Deluded’ live from The Epsy, in St.Kilda, Victoria.

Isaiah Firebrace - ‘Know Me Better (Acoustic)’

Released: 13 August 2020

‘Know Me Better’ is co-written by Isaiah with DNA, the team behind his 2017 Eurovision entry ‘Don’t Come Easy’ for Australia. Isaiah originally released he single last month and this month has released an accompanying emotive acoustic version. More recently Isaiah was outed as ‘The Wizard’ on “The Masked Singer Australia”.

Jessica Mauboy - ‘Butterfly (Acoustic)’

Released: 13 August 2020

‘Butterfly’ is Jessica’s fourth single off her deeply personal 2019 album release ‘Hilda’. This month she has released an an acoustic version of the song and a lyric video. ‘Butterfly’ is co-written by Jessica Mauboy together with British songwriters Jamie Hartman (who is part of the band Ben’s Brother, and has written for many artists including Kylie Minogue, Conrad Sewell and Calvin Harris) and Stuart Crichton (who has previously worked with the likes of Kylie Minogue, Delta Goodrem, Backstreet Boys and the UK Eurovision 2020 representation James Newman).

Jaguar Jonze - ‘Toxic’

Released: 14 August 2020

Jaguar Jonze has released a cover of a Britney Spears pop classic ‘Toxic’ “as an ode to the women who came forward as part of her #metoo movement over the last few weeks.” She created the music video while in isolation along with Ribal Hosn. Jaguar Jonze is currently in hotel isolation in Brisbane after a visit in Sydney and is expected to part in Street Serenades for Brisfest 2020 in Brisbane, Queensland which will run from 4-26 September. You can find more about the free event here.

Electric Fields - ‘From Little Things, Big Things Grow’

Released: 21 August 2020

Electric Fields have release an emotive cover of Kev Carmody’s ‘From Little Things Big Things Grow’ as part of a special 2020 edition of the tribute album ‘Cannot Buy My Soul’. The 2020 tribute album features many prominent Aussie artists including Jimmy Barnes, Kasey Chambers and Courtney Barnett.

As part of the final episode of The Sound this season on ABC Electric Fields performed a special live versions of the song live from The Conservatory in the Adelaide Botanic Gardens and was accompanied by special guest, Jessica Mauboy, Missy Higgins and John Butler.

Jack Vidgen - ‘I Have Nothing’

Released: 21 August 2020

Whitney Houston’s ‘I Have Nothing’ was originally Jack’s audition from the fifth season of “Australia’s Got Talent” in 2011, where he went on the win the the series. It was released on his debut album ‘Yes I Am’ which peaked at No.3 on the ARIA album chart in 2011. This digital release is Jack’s live rendition of the song.

Kate Miller-Heidke - ‘Blood Red Rose’

Released: 21 August 2020

Part of Kev Carmody’s 2020 tribute album ‘Cannot Buy My Soul’ Kate Miller-Heidke covered ‘Blood Red Rose’. She also released a stunning animated lyric video by animators and illustrators Juliet Miranda Rose and Cassidy Wanganeen Liddle. In the tribute albums original 2007 release ‘Blood Red Rose’ was covered by Aussie musician and actor Clare Bowditch.

Sheppard - ‘Catalina’

Released: 28 August 2020

‘Catalina’ is Sheppard’s eighth single release this year and sees them take a brand new direction. The band have been busy filming and sorting out the music video over the last fortnight with hints and teasers on their socials. The music video was shot in their hometown, Brisbane on location at the RNA Showgrounds carpark and the Boranica Gardens at Mt Coot-Tha. ’Catalina’ is a song Sheppard have been working on for three years and is about driving off into the sunset on an interstate highway outside of LA.

All these new singles and videos are available now on iTunes and Google Play and streaming on YouTube, Spotify and Apple Music.

Upcoming future releases from Australian Eurovision artists:

  • Dami Im - new single - announcement expected on August 31

  • Kate Miller-Heidke ‘Child In Reverse’ - New Album - October 30

  • Guy Sebastian - New Album T.R.U.T.H - to be released

For Guy Sebastian new album he has asked his fans to help contribute messages of hope and love in the album booklet, for details on how to take part check his Instagram post below.


bottom of page