top of page
  • Writer's pictureDale Roberts

Everything we know about Australia Decides 2020 so far...

So today we received the final four acts for 'Eurovision - Australia Decides' which finalised all 10 artists taking part in the contest.

It caps off over a month of announcements and hints ahead of the national selection show in February.

In case you haven't followed the details with a fine tooth comb, we have wrapped up all the details we know so far.

The logistics

Eurovision - Australia Decides will take place at the Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre on the following dates.  

  • Friday 7 February evening - Jury show

  • Saturday 8 February - Matinee (family show)

  • Saturday 8 February evening - Live show

The Saturday evening show will be broadcast live on SBS with the winner of the contest represent Australia at Eurovision in Rotterdam, The Netherlands in May. 

The Artists

Let's start with the main thing - the artists!

Competing will be household names and vocal powerhouses Vanessa Amorosi and Casey Donovan.

Joining them will be reality show stars from this year - Diana Rouvas, winner of The Voice, Jack Vidgen semi finalist on The Voice, Mitch Tambo, finalists on Australia's Got Talent and Jordan-Ravi who competed on America's Got Talent this year.

There's an indie element this year with Triple J regular Montaigne joined by Didirri with a huge Spotify and festival following and up and coming indie kid Jaguar Jonze.

The one wildcard is iOTA who is a singer, songwriter, actor and theatre star - winning multiple Helpman Awards.

The songs

So far we only have one song released. Jack Vidgen with 'I am King I am Queen'.

Vanessa Amorosi will be performing a song off her new album but hasn't revealed which one. Fans are picking 'Gimme Your Love' which comes in at 3.00 minutes exactly while we also have our eye on 'Lessons of Love' which comes in just over the 3.00 minute mark but has some impressive Eurovision style vocal.

Casey Donovan is performing 'Proud' written by Justine Eltakchi while Jordan-Ravi is singing 'Pushing Stars' written by 2019 Australia Decides artists Tania Doko and George Sheppard.

All other song details are to come with some hinting in the coming weeks.

Dangerous performances

Creative Director and Head of Delegation for Australia Paul Clarke said in an interview today that iOTA has a "dangerous" entry, saying "I promise that in the first song – it'll likely be iOTA – we're going to do something as absolutely off the wall as what we did with Kate. It'll be dangerous. People watch Eurovision for the spectacle. Having an artist like iOTA in the competition is a licence for mischief."

Kate Miller-Heidke will be there!

Paul Clarke also confirmed that Kate Miller-Heidke will be performing, much like Dami Im did at last year's show. It will be a great chance for Australian fans to show their appreciation to how well she represented Australia.

Vaness Amorosi also told 'The Morning Show' that "It was Kate Miller-Heidke that really sparked that ignition for me, watching her incredible performance."

The reason Electric Fields isn't back

Everyone wanted Electric Fields there but it was also revealed they were invited back but passed as they didn't feel they had a "Eurovision winning" song. It leaves the door open for the fan favourites to return in 2021.


The show will once again be hosted by SBS Eurovision commentators comedian Joel Creasey and music buff Myf Warhurst. They did a fantastic job last year and we're glad to see them back.


Tickets are on sale now! And can be purchased via Ticketek.

Well that's everything we know so far, make sure you follow us @aussievisionnet on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube. Also subscribe to our weekly podcast on Spotify, Apple or wherever you get your podcasts.


bottom of page