top of page
  • Writer's pictureKyriakos Tsinivits

SBS releases how to vote details for Eurovision 2022

The Australian broadcaster, SBS has revealed the voting details for this year’s Eurovision Song Contest.

When to vote

In each semi-final, 10 contestants are chosen to qualify for the Grand Final. As per the official Eurovision rules, viewers in all countries taking part in a particular semi-final are invited to vote in that semi-final.

Australian viewers are eligible to vote in semi-final 2 (in which Australia’s Sheldon Riley will perform) as well as the Grand Final. The voting window for semi-final 2 and the Grand Final opens after the last song has been performed, and ends 15 minutes later.

For Australian viewers, this means you are eligible to vote in the following two Eurovision Song Contest live events:

  • LIVE broadcast of Semi-Final 2, Friday 13 May, 5am (AEST)

  • LIVE broadcast of Grand Final, Sunday 15 May, 5am (AEST)

and then follow the voting instructions on screen during these live broadcasts (on SBS and at SBS on Demand).

How to vote

It's really easy. Eurovision’s official voting partner Digame in Germany has created a new online voting platform, exclusively for Australia’s public Eurovision vote. This means there will be no SMS or Televoting in Australia during the live shows. All of Australia’s public votes will be received via the new online system.

The voting portal will be accessed via, hosted by Digame. Votes will be limited to 20 per person and will cost 55c per vote.

You will be able to select which acts you want to vote for and how many votes per act (up to 20 votes total). How you allocate those votes is up to you: you could allocate 20 votes to one act, divide your votes between multiple acts, or just make one vote for your favourite.

Payment options are Google Pay, Apple Pay or Credit Card. Once payment has been received no more votes can be taken from that user. Full voting terms and conditions will be available on the voting platform.

Who to vote for

Jury members and public voters can’t vote for their own country, so you can vote for anyone everyone except Sheldon Riley.

With the two live semi-finals and Grand Final (5:00am AEST) while prime time evening delayed broadcasts will take place on Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights.

Primetime evening broadcasts

Semi-final 1 – Friday 13 May, 8.30pm (AEST), SBS

Semi-final 2 – Saturday 14 May, 8.30pm (AEST), SBS (Australia's semi-final)

Grand Final – Sunday 15 May, 7.30pm (AEST), SBS

LIVE early morning broadcasts

Semi-final 1 – Wednesday 11 May, 5:00am (AEST) SBS

Semi-final 2 – Friday 13 May, 5:00am (AEST) SBS (Australia's semi-final)

Grand Final – Sunday 15 May, 5:00am (AEST) SBS

For continued updates on all the Eurovision Song Contest news follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. All links at:


bottom of page