top of page
  • Writer's pictureMiles Glaspole

Hooverphonic releases 'The Wrong Place' - Belgium's song for Eurovision 2021

Belgium has unveiled its 2021 Eurovision Song contest entry, with Hooverphonic returning to sing 'The Wrong Place'.

Hooverphonic were internally selected by Flemish broadcaster VRT to represent Belgium in 2020 with the song 'Release Me', and their 2021 return was confirmed shortly after the 2020 contest was cancelled. The song's bassist and songwriter Alex Callier describes it as being about "a one night stand gone wrong."

Formed in 1995, Hooverphonic consists of Callier, guitarist Raymond Geerts, and original lead singer Geike Arnaert. Before Eurovision, the band was best known for their worldwide hit 'Mad About You', which found use in US TV shows such as 'Cold Case' and Netflix cult hit 'The Umbrella Academy'. Arnaert re-joined the band in late 2020 following the departure of Luka Cruysberghs, who performed lead vocals on 'Release Me'. As such, 'The Wrong Place' technically marks the band's first Eurovision entry with its current lineup.

Hooverphonic will perform in the second half of the first semi-final of the Eurovision Song Contest 2021, due to be held in Rotterdam on 18 May.

'The Wrong Place' can be streamed on Spotify, Apple Music, YouTube, and other music streaming platforms.


bottom of page