top of page
  • Writer's pictureHayley Bessell

Finland: UMK 2022 preview

Finland's national Eurovision selection, UMK (Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu) will be held on Saturday 26 February (European time) and Sunday 27 February in Australia in the morning after 'Eurovision - Australia Decides'.

The UMK winner will be chosen via a public vote of 75% and an international jury vote 25%.

The competition will be held in the city of Turku and will be hosted by Vesala (Finnish singer) and Mmiisas (YouTuber).

Blind Channel, who were last year's Finnish entry at Eurovision 2021, will be making a special performance during the show.

There are seven acts that will compete in this year's UMK.

The running order of the entries for the show:

  1. The Rasmus – 'Jezebel'

  2. Isaac Sene – 'Kuuma jäbä'

  3. Olivera – 'Thank God I’m an Atheist'

  4. BESS – 'Ram Pam Pam'

  5. Younghearted – 'Sun numero'

  6. Cyan Kicks – 'Hurricane'

  7. Tommi Läntinen – 'Elämä kantaa mua'

The Aussievision team recently listened to and ranked the seven songs taking part in UMK. BESS' song 'Ram Pam Pam' was the favourite among the contributors. Check out the article here.

The Rasmsus have been leading the polls for some time now and are the hot favourites to win UMK to represent Finland this year. Will Finland send rock to Eurovision once again?

To watch, head to the livestream at:

UMK's times are as follows:

  • 8.00pm, February 26, Central European Time

  • 4.00am (WA) February 27

  • 4.30am (NT) February 27

  • 5.00am AEST (QLD) February 27

  • 5.30am (SA) February 27

  • 6.00am AEDT (ACT, NSW, TAS, VIC) February 27

For continued updates Eurovision and all the national finals, follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, find us @aussievisionnet


bottom of page