top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlyce Collett

Unity wins COVID-19 impacted Dutch Junior Eurovision national final

The Dutch Junior Eurovision National Final has been run and won, and the group Unity took out the title and will represent The Netherlands at Junior Eurovision this year.

They won with their song titled ‘Best Friends’.

Unity are a girl group made up of four girls – Naomi (aged 13), Demi (aged 14), Maud (aged 14) and Jayda (aged 13).

There were three acts that contested the National Final – Unity, a boy group called T-Square and a duo of two girls, Jackie and Janae. All three were grouped together by producers ahead of the show.

There was originally meant to be four acts in the National Final, with a female soloist named Robin also competing.

owever, there was a shock announcement only hours before the show, when it was revealed that Demi from the group Unity and Robin could not participate in the live show because they had tested positive to Covid – 19.

Unity participated with the remaining three members and Robin was just ruled out of the contest completely, with no shot at representing The Netherlands this year.

The event was held at the Ahoy Arena in Rotterdam, which is the venue that is scheduled to host the adult Eurovision in 2021.

The winner was determined by an eve split of votes from an adult jury, a kids jury and a public televote. The adult jury included the likes of 2019 Eurovision winner Duncan Laurence, while the members of the kids jury was last year’s Dutch Junior Eurovision representative Matheu and the members of the group 6Times, who were the runners–up of the National Final last year.

Only minutes after the show ended, the Dutch broadcasters announced they will be participating in Junior Eurovision 2021 and opened submissions for next year’s contest.

The Netherlands returned to the top five last year, when Matheu finished 4th. Junior Eurovision 2020 will take place in Poland’s capital Warsaw on Sunday 29th November at 5pm CET (3am Monday 30th November Australian Eastern Standard Time).


bottom of page