top of page
  • Writer's pictureGuy Hornsey

North Macedonia: Artist and song details announced for 'Za Evrosong' 2022

The public broadcaster for North Macedonia, MRT, have announced details of their national final over night, with the six competing entries announced.

MRT announced it would be returning to a national selection process last month, opening the call for submissions. 47 songs were received and narrowed down to 6 by a professional jury:

  • Andrea - 'Circles'

  • Kaly - Love and Light'

  • Lara Ivanova - 'Flower of Sorrow'

  • Ris Flower - 'Flying to Berlin'

  • Viktor Apostolovski - 'Superman'

  • Yon Idy - 'Dreams'

The songs will be released as filmed live performances on January 28, when a public online vote will be opened until February 4. The winner will then be selected via 50% public vote and 50% jury.

The line-up includes Yon Idy, who is a Macedonian-Albanian singer and songwriter, who has seen chart success in the region releasing singles since 2019.

Yon Idy's 2019 single 'Gentle'

Lara Ivanova has also been releasing music over the last couple of years. In 2019 and 2021 she has taken part in Makfest, North Macedonia's largest pop music festival.

Official video for Lara's 2021 entry in Makfest 'Dusha'

This will be the first time North Macedonia have used a national final to select their Eurovision entry since they held 'Skopje Fest' in 2015. In the last five Eurovision Song Contests they have used internal selection and only qualified once - when Tamara Todevska made it to the Grand Final in 2019 and achieved their best ever result with 'Proud' coming in 7th North Macedonia's best result.

Hopefully 'Za Evrosong' can produce their next qualifying entry for Turin 2022.

For all the latest news on 'Za Evrosong' 2022 and all the other national finals, follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, find us @aussievisionnet


bottom of page