top of page
  • Writer's pictureKyriakos Tsinivits

New music from Australia Decides alumni

Over the last few weeks several 'Eurovision - Australia Decides' participants have been very busy releasing new singles.

Today we go through the latest single releases from the following artists:

Aydan - ‘Wide Awake’ Released: 28 February 2020

‘Wide Awake’ is co-written by Aydan along with Australian singer/songwriter Frank Dixon and Mark Benedicto, who has previously worked with Timomatic. It is Aydan’s follow up single from his Eurovision - Australia Decides 2019 entry ‘Dust’. The music video for ‘Wide Awake’ is shot on location throughout the state of Victoria, Australia. Locations include Anglesea Beach on the Surf Coast and Redwood Forest an hour north-east of Melbourne.

Didirri - ‘Don’t fight with what you’re fighting for’

Released: 26 March 2020

Didirri has treated us yet again with another raw emotive song ‘Don’t fight with what you’re fighting for’ following his 4th placed Eurovision - Australia Decides 2020 entry ‘Raw Stuff’. His new song seems more fitting than ever with the current climate. It premiered on Triple J last week. Take a close look at the music video as it features many public figures including Eurovision - Australia Decides 2020 winner Montaigne.

Sheppard - ‘Somebody Like You’

Released: 27 March 2020

Sheppard have been releasing singles non stop as part of their pledge to release a new music every month in 2020. At the end of the year they will release their new album. So far this year in January they released ‘Phoenix’ for bushfire relief and in February they released ‘Don’t Believe in Love’. In a statement on their upcoming album George Sheppard said:

"Our forthcoming album isn't necessarily a concept album, but there's definitely a cohesive theme running throughout the songs and a linear narrative that I hope people are able to piece together as the year goes on and the album grows."

'Somebody Like You' is about a previous relationship George Sheppard had where he lost a girl who he thought was the love of his life and he struggled to move on.

Vanessa Amorosi - ‘Coming Down Off You’

Released: 30 March 2020

At the back of her album release from the end of last year and after her podium finish at Eurovision - Australia Decides 2020 with 'Lessons of Love', Vanessa Amorosi has released a new track ‘Coming Down Off You’.

In the start of the year Vanessa had promised to release a lot of new music and on her Instagram account she warned us to “Be prepared to hear a different side of me”.

The new music is expected to be part of her forthcoming album ‘The Blacklisted Collection’.

KEiiNO & Electric Fields - ‘Would I Lie’

To Be Released: 03 April 2020

The long awaited collaboration of Norwegian super group KEiiNO with Australia’s Eurovision - Australia Decides 2019 runners up, Electric Fields is about to finally arrive. The song was recorded during KEiiNO’s Australian tour last year. Electric Fields have revealed that their new single has a strong environmental theme. It is expected to be a banger of a track. Follow our socials for more details on the release with our featured article on Friday.

You can hear a snippet of it here:

All these new singles are available on iTunes and Google Play and streaming on YouTube, Spotify and Apple Music.


bottom of page