top of page

Melodifestivalen 2024 artists announced

Swedish broadcaster SVT today announced the full list of artists and songs competing in next year's Melodifestivalen and the line-up is stacked with big names.

Four of last year's finalists are returning for another crack at the Eurovision stage in the six-week show that will determine who will represent host nation Sweden at Eurovision 2024 in Malmö.

In a change to the format of the competition, there will be five heats instead of four this year with a total of 30 artists competing. The Second Chance show has also been scrapped in favour of a shorter vote during the final heat.

While there are no returning Eurovision stars, 14 of the 30 artists competing in 2024 have previous Melodifestivalen experience which should make for a very entertaining and competitive series of shows.

So let's take a look at who will be competing!

Heat 1

  • Lisa Ajax (2016, 2017, 2019, 2022)

  • Elisa Lindström (2014, 2021)

  • Samir & Viktor (2015, 2016, 2018)

  • Smash Into Pieces (2023)

  • Melina Borglowe

  • Adam Woods (2023)

Melodifestivalen will open with a bang with the first heat including five artists with previous Melfest experience.

Smash Into Pieces return after finishing third last year with 'Six Feet Under'. Adam Woods is also back as a solo artist after finishing fourth in 2023 with Jon Henrik Fjällgren and Arc North. Lisa Ajax makes her fifth appearance while 2018 fourth place getters Samir & Viktor are returning for the fourth time.

Heat 2

  • C-Joe

  • Liamoo (2018, 2019, 2022)

  • Engmans Kapell

  • Dear Sara

  • Fröken Snusk

  • Maria Sur (2023)

This heat's biggest names include Liamoo and Maria Sur. Liamoo makes his fourth Melfest appearance after finishing third in 2019 (with Hanna Ferm) and fourth in 2022. Ukrainian singer and 2023 finalist Maria Sur also returns for a second time after finishing ninth with 'Never Give Up'.

Heat 3

  • Clara Klingenström (2021)

  • Jacqline Moss

  • Klaudy

  • Cazzi Opeia (2022)

  • Gunilla Persson

  • Kim Cesarion

2022 finalist Cazzi Opeia features here. She is well known as one of the writers of Loreen's 2023 Eurovision winning song 'Tattoo' and also AleXA's 'Wonderland', winner of the 2022 American Song Contest. Clara Klingenström was also a fan favourite when she finished 5th in 2021. Australian fans may recognise Kim Cesarion who had a Top 5 hit with 'Undressed' back in 2014.

Heat 4

  • Lia Larsson

  • Scarlet

  • Albin Tingwall

  • Lasse Stefanz (2011)

  • Danny Saucedo (2009, 2011, 2012, 2021)

  • Dotter (2018, 2020, 2021)

After coming agonisingly close to winning the contest in 2020 with 'Bulletproof', many are wondering if 2024 could be Dotter's year? Back then she missed first place by a single point and returned immediately in 2021 only to finish fourth. 2024 will be her fourth attempt at the crown. Melfest veteran and 2013 host Danny Saucedo is also back for a fifth time. He is a two time runner-up, finishing second in both 2011 and 2012.

Heat 5

  • Jay Smith

  • Elecktra

  • Chelsea Muco

  • Annika Wickihalder

  • Medina (2022)

  • Marcus & Martinus (2023)

Norwegian twins Marcus & Martinus were last year's runners-up with 'Air'. The boys return for another shot along with Medina who took 3rd place in 2022. Swedish drag performer Elecktra also makes her debut after featuring on 'Drag Race Sverige'

Melodifestivalen will start on Saturday 3 February 2024 (Sunday 4 February Australian time) with the Grand Final to take place on Saturday 9 March 2024 (Sunday 10 March Australian time).

For continued updates on all Eurovision Song Contest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, TikTok, YouTube and Instagram. All the links can be found at:


bottom of page