top of page
  • Writer's pictureKyriakos Tsinivits

KEiiNO set to release their debut album ‘OKTA’ featuring two Australian based indigenous acts

Norwegian supergroup KEiiNO are scheduled to release their long awaited debut album ‘OKTA’ on May 15 featuring indigenous acts from around the world including two from Australia.

The album was scheduled for a release on March 27 but was postponed due to the COVID-19 outbreak which prevented them from giving their first album proper promotion. KEiiNO even cancelled their album release concert they had planned in March.

It is all full steam ahead now.

KEiiNO have been very busy since winning the televote in the Eurovision Song Contest 2019 Grand Final in Tel Aviv with ‘Spirit In The Sky’. Even the Australian public loved it giving the supergroup the maximum douze points. ‘Spirit In The Sky’ finished in 6th position in the Eurovision Grand Final and got Norway their best result since 2013 and their fifth Top 10 result over the decade.

Since Eurovision they have released an impressive eight singles and toured around the world including Norway, Europe and Australia. They also travelled to North America and during their tour and travels they recorded their debut album in collaboration with indigenous artists.

While on their Australian tour last year they recorded music with two Australian based indigenous acts.

Their first Australian collaboration is with ‘Eurovision - Australia Decides 2019’ runner-ups Electric Fields. Their partnered effort ‘Would I Lie’ was released as their latest single in early April.

Co-written by both KEiiNO and Electric Fields, ‘Would I Lie’ has a strong environmental theme incorporating English lyrics with Australian indigenous language and Sámi Joiking.

While KEiiNO were in Queensland they collaborated with another indigenous language act, the Brisbane based haka group, Te Hau Tawhiti.

Te Hau Tawhiti were established to support and connect Māori living in Australia so they can stay linked to their Māoritanga. Their collaboration with KEiiNO is called ‘Roar Like A Lion’.

Back in October last year Te Hau Tawhiti posted about their collaboration with KEiiNO on their socials:

“After their Eurovision success, KEiiNO was appointed ambassadors of UN’s year of indigenous languages and half of there debut album releasing beginning next year will be collaborations with Indigenous artists. After being scouted by KEiiNO we travelled an hour to camp mountains on the Northside of Brisbane to record a new track for their debut album at Airlock Studios.

We are forever grateful for opportunities that come our way, big or small & honoured to be amongst one of Europes most famous musical groups, KEiiNO…”

Both of these collaborations form part of a 10-track album which includes their Eurovision 2019 televote winning song 'Spirit in the Sky'.


  1. Take Me Home

  2. Black Leather feat. Charlotte Qamaniq

  3. Would I Lie feat. Electric Fields

  4. Spirit in the Sky

  5. Dancing in the Smoke

  6. Roar like a Lion feat. Te Hau Tawhiti

  7. Praying

  8. Colours

  9. Louder feat. Drezus

  10. Bed with the Wolf

You are now able to pre-order the album through their website here where you can buy it through iTunes or even get your hands on the physical CD copy.

For those that plan to stream the album their is an option to purchase the digital booklet to further support the band.

The band are also offering a special treat to those pre-ordering the album. As an added bonus all pre-orders will receive a personal video-message from the band themselves!

‘OKTA’ is available for pre-order through their website here.


bottom of page