top of page
  • Writer's pictureKyriakos Tsinivits

Eurovision Young Musicians 2022: Daniel Matejča wins for the Czech Republic

Daniel Matejča has won the Eurovision Young Musicians 2022 for the Czech Republic.

He won with his performance piece Chostakovich: Violin Concerto No. 1 3rd and 4th movements Cadenza, Allegro con brio – Presto.

Daniel Matejča delivered the Czech Republic their first Eurovision Young Musicians win!

As the winner of the competition he will now get to perform at the Festival de musique Radio France Occitanie Montpellier in 2023.

The second place prize went to Germany's Philipp Schupelius and the third place prize to Norway's Alma Serafin Kraggerud.

The 20th edition of Eurovision Young Musicians took place at the Festival Radio France Occitanie in Montpellier. France Télévisions hosted the competition, with the event being produced in partnership with the Festival Radio France Occitanie Montpellier, Radio France and Telewizja Polska.

The Eurovision Young Musicians Final was broadcast on Saturday, July 23 (European time). The event saw talented young classical musicians aged between 12 and 21 years old compete.

The winner was decided by five jury members. They were Müza Rubackyté (Jury Chair and a violinist from Lithuania), Nora Cismondi (an oboist from Switzerland), Jean-Pierre Rousseau (Director of the Festival Radio France Montpellier from France), Christian-Pierre La Marca (a cellist from France) and Tedi Papavrani (a violinist from Albania).

It was hosted by French playwright Judith Chaine and Belgian radio presenter Vincent Delbushaye, and featured the Montpellier Occitanie National Opera Orchestra conducted by Pierre Dumoussaud.

There were nine participating countries in this year’s competition. The countries, musicians, instruments and pieces that performed on the night were (by running order):

  1. Croatia - Ivan Petrović-Poljak - piano - Liszt: Piano Concerto No. 1 in E flat minor

  2. France - Maxime Grizard - cello - Dvorak: Concerto for violoncello

  3. Poland - Milena Pioruńska - violin - Wieniawski: Violin Concerto No. 2 in D minor

  4. Germany - Philipp Schupelius - cello - Tchaikovsky: Pezzo Capriccioso op.62 - SECOND PRIZE

  5. Austria - Alexander Svetnitsky-Ehrenreich - clarinet - Carl Maria von Weber: Concerto No. 2 for clarinet in E flat major, 3rd movement 'Alla Polacca'

  6. Norway - Alma Serafin Kraggerud - violin - Camille Saint-Saëns: Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso op.28 - THIRD PRIZE

  7. Belgium - Thaïs Defoort - cello - Cello concerto in E minor op.85 1st movement

  8. Sweden - Lukas Flink - trombone - Tomasi: Trombone Concerto – 1st movement, Andante and Scherzo-Valse

  9. Czech Republic - Daniel Matejča - violin - Chostakovich: Violin Concerto No. 1 3rd and 4th movements Cadenza, Allegro con brio – Presto - WINNER

The following countries will delay broadcast the contest Germany (WDR Fernsehen) and Austria (ORF 2) on July 24 and Sweden (SVT2) on July 30.

Alternatively you can watch the show below:

Did you enjoy the show? Who was your favourite? Let us know.

For continued updates on all the Eurovision news follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. All links at:


bottom of page