top of page
  • Writer's pictureKyriakos Tsinivits

Eurovision Song Contest: The Story of Fire Saga - What we know so far

Over the weekend we got a sneak peak of the new Eurovision film by Netflix, ‘Eurovision Song Contest: The Story of Fire Saga’ through the release of the first single ‘Volcano Man’.

For those in Australia it featured in Saturday night’s ‘Eurovision 2020: Big Night In!’ on SBS. Over the last few days snippets of information have been revealed into what we should expect form this comedy. We run through what we know so far…

What is the ‘Eurovision Song Contest: The Story of Fire Saga’ about?

The film is a feel-good comedy about two Icelandic small-town singers Lars Erickssong and Sigrit Ericksdottir who get an opportunity of a lifetime to represent Iceland at the the Eurovision Song Contest.

‘Eurovision Song Contest: The Story of Fire Saga’ is directed by David Dobkin, who has previously directed Shanghai Knights which starred Jackie Chan and Owen Wilson and Wedding Crashers which featured Owen Wilson and Vince Vaughn. The film has been written by Will Ferrell and Andre Steele.

Who will star in the film?

The film stars:

  • Will Ferrell as Icelandic singer Lars Erickssong

  • Rachel McAdams as Icelandic singer Sigrit Ericksdottir

  • Pierce Brosnsan as Lars’s father Erick

  • Dan Stevens as Russian singer Alexander Lemtov

  • Demi Lovato as Katiana

Many others are also expected to take part in the film including siblings Natasia and Jamie Demetriou, Graham Norton who will play himself, and Icelandic stars Ólafur Darri Ólafsson, Björn Hlynur Haraldsson, Nína Dögg Filippusdóttir and Jóhannes Haukur Jóhannesson (who featured in a couple episodes of ‘Games of Thrones’).

Dan Stevens (shown above) as Russian singer Alexander Lemtov, Lars and Sigrit’s competitor at the Contest

Where was it filmed?

Filming had begun last year in the United Kingdom and Iceland. Will Ferrel and Rachel McAdams were also seen at the dress rehearsals of the Eurovision Song Contest 2019 in Tel Aviv, Israel.

Who are behind the songs that will feature in the film?

So far it has been revealed that music producer Savan Kotecha is involved. He has most notably produced music for Westlife, Ariana Grande, Usher, The Weeknd, Britney Spears, One Direction and Demi Lovato.

The first single release ‘Volcano Man’ was sung by Will Ferrell and My Marianne aka Molly Sandén. Molly Sandén is a Swedish singer who has previously participated at the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2006 and at Melodifestivalen in 2009, 2012 and 2016. Rachel McAdams is shown lip-syncing to Molly’s vocals in the music video.

‘Volcano Man’ was written and produced by Christian Persson and Gustaf Holter. Both songwriters and producers have collaborated before for Alex Aris, Steerner and Lisa Ajax. A couple years ago the duo had joined Universal Music Publishing Scandinavia.

Here are a list of the songs we know will feature in the film so far:

  • ‘Volcano Man’ by Will Ferrell and My Marianne

  • ‘Lion of Love’ by Dan Stevens

  • ‘In the Mirror’ by Demi Lovato

  • ‘Jaja, Ding Dong’

  • ‘Double Trouble’

When will it be released?

‘Eurovision Song Contest: The Story of Fire Saga’ was set to premiere at the same time as the Eurovision Song Contest 2020. But since the Covid-19 pandemic and cancellation of Eurovision its release was back.

The soundtrack will be out on June 26.

The film will be shown exclusively through the streaming service Netflix from June 26.


bottom of page