• Dale Roberts

Estonia's Eesti Laul semi final one qualifiers

Synne Valtri (courtesy ERR)

The first semi final of Estonia's national final Eesti Laul took place this morning.

If you were brave enough to get up at 4:30am (AEDT) then you would have caught some good quality songs from the Baltic nation.

Of the 12 performers only six could go through to the final, with the decision based on a 50/50 jury/televote split.

The qualifying artists and songs were:

  • Rasmus Rändvee - 'Young'

  • Anett Kulbin & Fredi - 'Write About Me'

  • Egert Milder - 'Georgia (on My Mind)'

  • Synne Valtri & Väliharf - 'Majakad'

  • Stefan - 'By My Side'

  • Laura Põldvere - 'Break Me'

Both Stefan and Laura didn't qualify from the first four announced and had to wait for the second vote (which is 100% public vote) to qualify.

Stefan (courtesy ERR)

The results followed an Aussievision twitter poll during the show that found online viewers favoured Synne Valtri feat. Väliharf and their song 'Majakad' ahead of Stefan in 2nd and Anett x Fredi in 3rd. All three qualified.

Laura qualified for yet another Estonian national selection final. She won in 2005 and 2017 as part of a group and duo ('Let's Get Loud' and 'Verona'). She also finished 2nd in 2016, and 3rd in 2007 and 2009.

Laura (courtesy ERR)

You can see all performances from tonight at: https://menu.err.ee/k/eesti-laul

The next semi final will take place on Sunday morning 4:30am (AEDT), Saturday evening 18;30 (CET).

The final will take place on 29 February.

© 2023 by Aussievision Proudly created with Wix.com