top of page
  • Writer's pictureSamuel Lee

Denmark: Dansk Melodi Grand Prix artists and songs announced

Photo courtesy of

Danish Broadcasting Corporation (DR) has announced the eight artists and songs that will be competing in this year's Dansk Melodi Grand Prix.

Among the finalists is Basim, who represented Denmark exactly a decade ago on home turf with 'Cliche Love Song'.

Here are the eight Dansk Melodi Grand Prix finalists in alphabetical order:

Aura Dione - 'Mirrorball of Hope'

Basim - 'Johnny'

Chu Chu - 'The Chase (Zoom zoom)'

Janus Wiberg - 'I Need Your Love'

RoseeLu - 'Real Love'

Saba - 'Sand'

Stella - 'Sign Here'

Ublu - 'Planetary Hearts'

Over 500 songs were submitted with the hope of representing Denmark at Eurovision.

The Dansk Melodi Grand Prix final will be held on February 17 at the DR Koncerthset in Copenhagen. The hosts will be Sara Bro and Stéphanie Surrugue.

There will be several changes to the Danish national selection this year. These include:

  • Finalists having the opportunity to perform their entry with a live orchestra

  • Finalists singing their entries in an acoustic style on live television on February 10

  • The jury consisting of ten international Eurovision experts from the countries that have won the five most recent contests (Sweden, Ukraine, Italy, Netherlands and Israel), as well as ten Danish Eurovision experts.

Overall the results will be decided by a combination of the 20-member jury vote and public tele-vote. Danes will be able to vote via SMS or mobile app. There will be two rounds to the final, with three acts making it through to the final round.

A key objective of this year's Dansk Melodi Grand Prix was to select entries that would appeal to a younger demographic. Another goal is for the chosen winner to break Denmark's non-qualification streak at Eurovision which extends back to 2019. Last year's representative Reiley with 'Breaking My Heart' bombed in the second semi-final, receiving just six points all of which came from Iceland.

Dansk Melodi Grand Prix can be viewed at this DR live stream link at the following times in the following locations:

  • 8pm Saturday February 17 Central European time

  • 3am Sunday February 18 WA time

  • 4:30am Sunday February 18 NT time

  • 5am Sunday February 18 QLD time

  • 5:30am Sunday February 18 SA time

  • 6am Sunday February 18 AEDT (NSW, VIC, TAS and ACT) time

For continued updates on all Eurovision Song Contest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, TikTok, YouTube and Instagram. All the links can be found at:



bottom of page