top of page
  • Writer's pictureGuy Hornsey

Bulgaria releases 'Tears Getting Sober' for Eurovision 2020

Bulgaria have released their 2020 entry today, with ‘Tears Getting Sober’ by Victoria.

The song was co-written by Victoria and Symphonix International (Borislav Milanov, Lukas Oscar and Cornelia Wiebols). Bill Milanov said the song is about the issue of mental health problems in today’s generation, “The message is that there is still hope, and your only way out is to fight and face your fears. It’s better to have a scar instead of having a wound that’s always open.”

Victoria has said “The story behind the song is how you can go through your problems and move on.”

Symphonix International also wrote ‘Nobody But You’ By Cesár Sampson in 2018, and Borislav Milanov co-wrote ‘Dance Alone’ for Jana Burčeska in 2017.

The Bulgarian Broadcaster BNT first confirmed Bulgaria would be returning to the contest late last year, after taking a year out in 2019. Shortly after they announced Victoria would be their artist, chosen by internal selection.

Victoria became known when she competed in X Factor Bulgaria, making it through to week 9 of the show. After the X Factor she was signed up by a record label and has released four singles. Her debut album will be released in 2020.


bottom of page