top of page
  • Writer's pictureDale Roberts

UK choose James Newman for Eurovision 2020 in Rotterdam

Today the BBC announced that James Newman with 'My Last Breath' will be their entry for Eurovision 2020.

The song had earlier 'leaked' on Czech Radio with many UK sleuth fans piecing it all together.

James Newman is a singer-songwriter and brother of John Newman who many will know from his 2013 hit 'Love Me Again'.

James himself his yet to release a solo album but has been a successful songwriter including a Brit Award winner in 2014 for Rudimental's 'Waiting all Night'.

He also wrote 'Blame' performed by his brother with Calvin Harris, 'Love Me Like You' by Little Mix and even a Eurovision entry - 'Dying to Try' which represented Ireland in 2017.

He has also written for Australian artists Guy Sebastian and Havana Brown.

He hasn't always been behind the scenes either, additionally he has been featured vocalist for many artists include Armin Van Buuren in 2018.

'My Last Breath' is a short Eurovision song at 2:35. It is co-written by Ed Drewett, who is behind such hits as 'Black Magic' and 'Shout Out to My Ex' for Little Mix, and Adam Argyle who has worked with Dua Lipa and Mel C.

Iain Farquharson is also a co-writer and he's responsible for two former Eurovision entries - 2011 winner 'Running Scared' and the Belgian entry from 2013 'Love Kills'.

UK have won the Eurovision contest five times, but have failed to make the top 10 since 2009.

This is the first time the UK have chosen an internal act since 2015 with Electro Velvet.

They have finished outside the top 20 four out of the last five years including last place in 2019.

Additionally the last time a male solo from the UK made the top 10 was in 1992 when Michael Ball was runner-up.

They will be hoping James Newman's pedigree can create history and bring them a solid result in Rotterdam.


bottom of page