top of page
  • Jessika Ross

Songs released for Finland's UMK 2020

Over the past week, the songs for the Finnish national final, 'Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu' 2020 (UMK) have all been released daily.

One of these six songs will win UMK 2020 and will go on to represent Finland in Rotterdam.

The competing songs are:

Aksel Kankaanranta - 'Looking Back'

Catharina Zühlke – 'Eternity'

Erika Vikman – 'Cicciolina'

F3M – ‘Bananas’

Sansa – ‘Lover View’

Tika - ‘I Let My Heart Break’

Out of the six the only returning artist is Catharina Zühlke who finish up runner up in UMK 2017 with the song 'Perfect Villian'. She is joined by two previous music reality television contestants, Tika who won 'X Factor Finland' back in 2018 and Aksel Kankaanranta who competed in 'The Voice of Finland' in 2017.

The winning song will be decided by a standard 50% Jury and 50% televote, with the international jury being yet to be announced.

Recently Finland has had a rough time at Eurovision. In 2018 Finnish artist Saara Aalto was the only artist to qualify for the Grand Final since 2014 (and only 4 qualifiers since 2010).

The Finnish have won the Contest once in 2006, when Lordi took the trophy in Athens with 'Hard Rock Hallelujah'.

UMK will, once again, be hosted by the 2010 Finnish Eurovision entrant, Krista Siegfreds along with Mikko Silvennoinen in Tampere.

The Final will take place on March 7 in Europe and on March 8 in Australia.

For continued updates on all the Eurovision national finals follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, find us @aussievisionnet


bottom of page