top of page
  • Writer's pictureKyriakos Tsinivits

Sheldon Riley performs at Eurovision concert Het Grote Songfestivalfeest 2022

Sheldon Riley with Conchita Wurst / photo credit: Sheldon Riley Facebook

Australia's 2022 Eurovision star Sheldon Riley has performed at the Het Grote Songfestivalfeest 2022 in the Ziggo Dome in Amsterdam, The Netherlands.

Sheldon Riley is the first Australian Eurovision artist to be invited to the event.

Het Grote Songfestivalfeest, which translates to The Big Songfestival Party, is a Dutch televised concert which features past Eurovision artists and winners. It first took place in 2019, with a follow up that was meant to happen in 2021 but was cancelled due to the Covid pandemic.

Sheldon performed his 2022 Eurovision entry 'Not The Same' which came second in the second semi-final and finished in 15th place at the Eurovision Grand Final in Turin.

Photo credit: Lance V Moore

For the performance the Eurovision star wore an exquisite mask by Lance V Moore (a San Francisco based mask artist). The delicate custom made piece is called "Black Swan" and is made up of cut brass, enamel, French Chantelle lace and Swarovski crystal. You can check out Lance V Moore's work here.

Sheldon met a lot of Eurovision artists during the concert, He also got reacquainted with the 2014 Eurovision winner, Conchita Wurst where they filmed a little chat. The duo first met at Eurovision 2022 in Turin where Conchita surprised Sheldon with a meet and greet. Sheldon is a huge fan of Conchita.

The Eurovision artists that performed at the concert included (listed in alphabetical order):

  • Alexander Rybak - Norway 2009 WINNER & 2018

  • Antique - Greece, Eurovision 2001

  • Carola - Sweden, Eurovision 1983, 1991 WINNER & 2006

  • Conchita Wurst - Austria, Eurovision 2014 WINNER

  • Duncan Laurence - the Netherlands, Eurovision 2019 WINNER

  • Efendi - Azerbaijan, Eurovision 2021

  • Frizzle Sizzle - Netherlands, Eurovision 1986

  • Gion's Tears - Switzerland, Eurovision 2021

  • Go_A - Ukraine, Eurovision 2021

  • Helena Paparizou - Greece, Eurovision 2005 WINNER

  • Herreys - Sweden, Eurovision 1984 WINNER

  • Jamala - Ukraine, Eurovision 2016 WINNER

  • Johnny Logan - Ireland, Eurovision 1980 WINNER & 1987 WINNER

  • Kalush Orchestra - Ukraine, Eurovision 2022 WINNER

  • KEiiNO - Norway, Eurovision 2019

  • Lenny Kuhr - Netherlands, Eurovision 1969 WINNER

  • Lordi - Finland, Eurovision 2006 WINNER

  • Loreen - Sweden, Eurovision 2012 WINNER

  • Michael Schulte - Germany, Eurovision 2018

  • Måns Zelmerlöw - Sweden, Eurovision 2015 WINNER

  • Netta - Israel, Eurovision 2018 WINNER

  • OG3NE - Netherlands, Eurovision 2017

  • S10 - Netherlands, Eurovision 2022

  • Sandra Kim - Belgium, Eurovision 1986 WINNER

  • Senhit - San Marino, Eurovision 2011 & 2021

  • Sheldon Riley - Australia, Eurovision 2022

  • Stefania - Greece, Eurovision 2021

  • Subwoolfer - Norway, Eurovision 2022

  • The Roop - Lithuania, Eurovision 2021

  • TIX - Norway, Eurovision 2021

The event is expected to be televised at a later date.

There is no word yet when and if the show will be broadcast in Australia. Het Grote Songfestivalfeest 2019 was broadcast on SBS Viceland in May 2020 renamed as 'The Road To Eurovision 2020: The Winners'. Fingers crossed it will be on screens Down Under very soon.

For continued updates on all Eurovision Song Contest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter TikTok and Instagram. All the links can be found at:


bottom of page