top of page
  • estellecoombs

SBS Eurovision 2022: Semi-final 1 replay – Who did the Australian public like?

Overnight SBS aired the first primetime telecast replay of the first semi-final of Eurovision 2022 in Turin.

As usual, fans watching could vote for their favourite songs on the night at SBS via the following emojis:

  • Thumbs Up

  • Thumbs Down

  • Love Heart (stirs your emotions)

  • Laughing

  • Dancing

So how did Australia vote, and how did the votes correlate with the official results?

Australia gave a THUMBS UP reaction to:

  • Lithuania

  • Ukraine

  • Netherlands

  • Croatia

  • Denmark

  • Iceland

  • Armenia

Australia gave a THUMBS DOWN reaction to:

  • Albania

  • Bulgaria


  • Switzerland

  • Portugal

  • Greece

Australia gave a LAUGHING reaction to:

  • Latvia

  • Norway

Australia gave a DANCING reaction to:

  • Slovenia

  • Moldova

  • Austria

So in comparison to the actual results, Australia's emoji voting was overwhelmingly positive, with only two songs being given the thumbs down emoji. Australia would also have liked Croatia and Denmark to qualify for the Grand Final.

Tune in tomorrow night to see how the public voted tomorrow for semi-final 2!

Eurovision 2022 semi-final 2 replay, features Sheldon Riley, and airs on Saturday 14 May, 8.30pm (AEST) on SBS and on SBS On Demand.

For continued updates on all the Eurovision Song Contest news follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. All links at:


bottom of page