top of page
  • Writer's pictureKyriakos Tsinivits

Måns Zermerlöw and Jon Ola Sand are coming Down Under for 'Australia Decides'

It’s Måns Zermerlöw! Yes you heard it right! Today SBS and production partner Blink TV unveiled their mystery international multi-platinum Eurovision guest that will hit the stage for ‘Eurovision - Australia Decides 2020’ in February.

They also confirmed that the Eurovision winning Swede will be one of the Jury members for the Australian national final. 

He won the Eurovision Song Contest 2015 in Vienna with his song ‘Heroes’, in a very competitive year up against Il Volo, Polina Gagarina, Loïc Nottet and our very own Guy Sebastian. After wining, he had the privilege of hosting the Eurovision Song Contest in Stockholm with Petra Mede the following year.

His single ‘Heroes’ reached number one across 21 countries around the world on the iTunes charts. It even reached the Top 20 on the ARIA charts in Australia at number 19.

In a press release from SBS Måns also unveiled some more very exciting news:

“I’m so excited to come back to my favourite country to perform, and to be a guest judge on the National Eurovision selection show! Australia has sent great songs ever since they joined the Eurovision Song Contest and I think 2020 could be THE year. I might sing a line or two from my winning song from 2015 and from my newest single, Walk with Me, featuring the wonderful Dami Im. Can’t wait to see you all!”

Måns Zermerlöw will be joined by the Eurovision boss himself Jon Ola Sand. Known for his famous phrase “take it away” Jon Ola Sand is stepping down as Executive Supervisor after the Eurovision Song Contest 2020 in Rotterdam.

He has been in the big role for over a decade, and in a statement from SBS he expressed his delight about visiting Down Under:

“I’m very happy to be down under and a part of Australia Decides this year. Since first taking part in 2015, SBS has made a huge contribution to the success of the Eurovision Song Contest. Their excellent national selection show, which showcases the country’s best singing talent, underscores SBS and Australia’s place as valued members of the Eurovision family.”

SBS and Blink TV are thrilled with their appearance at 'Australia Decides' and released their own statements:

The SBS Commissioning Editor for Entertainment and Australian Head of Delegation Josh Martin said: 

“We’re thrilled to welcome Måns and Jon Ola to Australia for our national selection show. Normally, Australia heads to Europe, but in February Europe is coming to Australia! Måns is one of the all-time Eurovision greats and fans are in for a real treat. And it’s with a mix of sadness and excitement that we welcome Jon Ola to our shores as his stewardship of Eurovision approaches the end. Since 2010 he has overseen a phenomenal period of change and growth in the contest, and all of us here at SBS and around Australia will be forever thankful that we were invited to the party!”

The Creative Director of Eurovision – Australia Decides and Director of Blink TV Paul Clarke said:

“Hej Hej, welcome Måns! He was a game changer at Eurovision when he won in 2015 and it will be like a Eurovision masterclass for our artists and audience to see him performing on the Gold Coast. It’s a dream come true for Dami Im to release a song with Måns, and their duet on the night will be one of the highlights of the show. We also look forward to hosting Jon Ola Sand at Australia Decides - he’s been a great advocate for Australia’s involvement in Eurovision over the past decade.”

This years ‘Eurovision - Australia Decides 2020’ is going to be bigger than ever. With previous news that last years Australian Eurovision representative Kate Miller-Heidke will perform ‘Zero Gravity’ on the stage where it all began, and Eurovision powerhouse Dami Im will also perform a brand new track.

They will be all joined by this years 10 competing artists, where the winner will head off the Rotterdam for Eurovision 2020.

The 10 confirmed artists and songs are (in no particular order):

  • Casey Donovan - 'Proud'

  • Vanessa Amorosi

  • Mitch Tambo - 'Together'

  • iOTA - 'Life'

  • Didirri - 'Raw Stuff'

  • Montaigne - 'Don't Break Me'

  • Jaguar Jonze - 'Rabbit Hole'

  • Jack Vigen - 'I Am King I Am Queen' 

  • Diana Rouvas 'Can We Make Heaven'

  • Jordan-Ravi - 'Pushing Stars'

The event will take place at the Gold Coast Convention Centre on the following dates.  

Friday 7 February evening - Jury show

Saturday 8 February - Matinee (family show)

Saturday 8 February evening - Live show

The Saturday evening show will be broadcast live on SBS with the winner of the contest represent Australia at Eurovision in Rotterdam, The Netherlands in May. 

For continued updates on 'Australia Decides' and all your Eurovision news follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, find us @aussievisionnet


bottom of page