top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaura Smith

Estonia: Hosts and allocation draw of Eesti Laul 2022 semi-finals revealed

Overnight, Estonian broadcaster ERR has revealed the allocation draw of the Eesti Laul 2022 semi-finals.

This year, 20 artists have made it to the semi-finals after progressing through four quarter-finals for the first time in the selection's history. 10 artists will perform in each of the semi-finals.

Although running orders for the two semi-finals have not been revealed yet, all artists have been allocated to one of the two semi-finals.

The artists and songs competing in semi-final 1 will be:

  • Alabama Watchdog - 'Move On' (composed by Ken Einberg, Taaniel Pogga, Sven Seinpere)

  • Andrei Zevakin feat. Grete Paia - 'Mis nüüd saab' (composed by Andrei Zevakin, Henry Orlov, Grete Paia)

  • Elina Nechayeva - 'Remedy' (composed by Sven Lõhmus)

  • ELYSA - 'Fire' (Composed by Linnea Deb, Ellen Benediktson, Andreas Stone, Elisa Kolk, Indrek Rahumaa)

  • Helen - 'Vaata minu poole' (composed by Karl Killing, Gevin Niglas, Merili Käsper, Helen Randmets)

  • Kaia-Liisa Kesler - 'Vaikus' (composed by Kaarel Orumägi, Kaia-Liisa Kesler)

  • Merilin Mälk - 'Little Girl' (composed by Karl-Ander Reismann)

  • Ott Lepland - 'Aovalguses' (Composed by Ott Lepland, Maian Anna Kärmas, Karl-Ander Reismann)

  • Stig Rästa - 'Interstellar' (Composed by Stig Rästa, Victor Crone, Herman Gardarfve, David Lingren Zacharias, Fred Krieger)

  • Triin Niitoja & Frants Tikerpuu - 'Laululind' (composed by Frants Tikerpuu)

The artists and songs competing in semi-final 2 will be:

  • Anna Sahlene - 'Champion' (composed by Anna Sahlene, Nicklas Eklund, Dagmar Oja, Kaire Vilgats)

  • Black Velvet - 'Sandra' (Composed by Sven Lõhmus)

  • Boamadu - 'Mitte kauaks' (Composed by Peeter Priks, Keith Mutvei)

  • Evelin Samuel - 'Waterfall' (Composed by Glen Pilvre, Priit Pajusaar, Katrin Pärn)

  • Jaagup Tuisk - 'Kui Vaid' (Composed by Jaagup Tuisk, Rita Bavanati, Lauri Rapp)

  • Jyrise - 'Plaksuta' (composed by Rauno Jürise, Tuomas Lehtinen, Mairo Virolainen, Sander Valge)

  • Maian - 'Meeletu' (Composed by Maian Lomp, Gevin Niglas)

  • Minimal Wind ft. elisabeth tiffany - 'What To Make Of This' (Composed by Paula Pajusaar, Taavi-Hans Kõlar, Elisabeth Tiffany Lepik, Ralf Erik Kollom)

  • Púr Múdd, Shira - 'Golden Shores' (Composed by Madis Sillamo, Oliver Rõõmus, Joonatan Siiman, Kasper Krogh Vestergaard, Nikolaj Tøth Andersen)

  • STEFAN - 'Hope' (composed by Stefan Airapetjan, Karl-Ander Reismann)

Five artists will progress to the Eesti Laul 2022 final from each of the semi-finals, with the votes of the jury and public deciding the qualifiers.

The hosts of the two Eesti Laul semi-finals were also announced on Estonian current affairs show 'Ringvaade' overnight.

Estonia's 1996 and 1997 representative Maarja-Liis Ilus will be joined by actor Priit Loog to present the shows. This is the first time that the duo have presented together.

Continuing a trend where all four quarter-finals were hosted by previous Estonian Eurovision artists, Maarja-Liis Ilus represented Estonia at the 1996 Eurovision Song Contest singing 'Kaelakee hääl' with Ivo Linna. She returned to the Contest for Estonia one year later, singing 'Keelatud maa'.

Upon being announced as one of the hosts for the semi-finals, Maarja-Liis Ilus told ERR "It's a bigger challenge for me to run a show than to sing it on my own". Priit Loog mentioned that the call from the Eesti Laul producer came to him unexpectedly, but that he still found it to be a gratifying proposal. "Everything seemed very exciting and I was anxious," said Priit.

The Eesti Laul semi-finals will take place on 3 & 5 February 2022 (4 and 6 February 2022 in Australia) live from Saku Suurhall, with the grand final of the show on 12 February 2022 (13 February 2022 in Australia) deciding who Estonia will send to the Eurovision Song Contest 2022 in Turin.


bottom of page