top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaura Smith

Estonia: Eesti Laul 2022 hosts and quarter-final 1 artists announced

Image credit: ERR

Eesti Laul is back and bigger than ever before with the show's format expanding to four quarter-finals and 40 songs.

Overnight Estonian broadcaster ERR announced the 10 artists who have been selected to take part in quarter-final 1 of the 2022 competition, as well as the composers and titles of the songs competing for the chance to be the Estonian representative at the 2022 Eurovision Song Contest in Turin.

Here are the 10 artists and songs competing in quarter-final 1 of Eesti Laul 2022:

  • Jaagup Tuisk - 'Kui Vaid' (Composed by Jaagup Tuisk, Rita Bavanati, Lauri Rapp)

  • Boamadu - 'Mitte kauaks' (Composed by Peeter Priks, Keith Mutvei)

  • Evelin Samuel - 'Waterfall' (Composed by Glen Pilvre, Priit Pajusaar, Katrin Pärn)

  • Fiona and Me - 'Feel Like This' (Composed by Fiona and Me)

  • Kéa - 'Everytime' (Composed by Andrei Zevakin, Ketter Orav)

  • Little Mess - 'Hea päev' (Composed by Timo Vendt, Tanja Mihhailova-Saar, Andra Teede)

  • Maian - 'Meeletu' (Composed by Maian Lomp, Gevin Niglas)

  • Peter Põder - 'Koos lõpuni' (Composed by Peter Põder, Raul Krebs)

  • Stig Rästa - 'Interstellar' (Composed by Stig Rästa, Victor Crone, Herman Gardarfve, David Lingren Zacharias, Fred Krieger)

  • Traffic - 'Kaua veel' (Composed by Karl Killing, Andreas Poom, Fred Krieger, Silver Laas, Vallo Kikas)

Some familiar names are among the group including Stig Rästa who competed at Eurovision 2015 with 'Goodbye to Yesterday'. He also competed in Eesti Laul in 2018 with 'Home' finished 3rd.

His song this year, 'Interstellar', was co-written by Eurovision 2019 competitor Victor Crone.

Another Eurovision competitor competing is Evelin Samuel, she performed at the 1999 contest finishing 6th with 'Diamond of Night'.

Five other artists have competed at Eesti Laul before with Jaagup Tuisk runner-up in 2020 with 'Beautiful Lie' and Traffic fifth in the same year with 'Üks kord veel'

In total 202 songs were submitted for the competition with languages of songs ranging from Estonian and English to Italian, French, Spanish, and even an imaginary language!

Additionally, the hosts were also named for Eesti Laul 2022, to guide viewers through the new format of the show. During the first quarter-final, Tanel Padar and Ines will be undertaking hosting duties.

Tanel Padar famously won Eurovision in 2001 performing 'Everybody' with Dave Benton and 2XL, while Ines represented Estonia in the 2000 Eurovision Song Contest in Stockholm with the song 'Once In A Lifetime'.

The artists who will be participating in the following three quarter-finals will be announced each Monday night (Tuesday morning in Australia) on the TV show 'Ringvaade'.

The live broadcasts of the Eesti Laul quarter-finals will take place on the 20th and 27th of November and the 4th and 11th of December (21st and 28th November and 5th and 12th of December in Australia) on ETV and ETV+.

The top 5 songs in each quarter-final will advance to the semi-finals based on the jury and public votes.

Eesti Laul quarter-final 1 will commence on Saturday 20 November 2021 at 9:35pm local time (Sunday 21 November 2021 in Australia at 6:35am AEDT).


bottom of page