top of page
  • Writer's pictureDale Roberts

Australia is hosting a virtual Eurovision competition - the OGAE Song Contest 2022

Image credit: OGAE Australia

This year the official Eurovision fan club of Australia will host the global competition, the OGAE Song Contest.

The contest has been running since 1987 and sees official Eurovision fan clubs around the world (as part of the OGAE network) choose a song to represent and compete for their country.

Australia won the 2021 contest with Tones and I and her song 'Fly Away'.

The song won by just eight points over Erika Vikman from Finland with ‘Syntisten Pöytä' while the United Kingdom finished in 3rd place with Joel Corry & MNEK's song 'Head and Heart'.

This was the second victory for Australia as Dami Im took out the crown in 2017 with 'Fighting for Love'.

As winners of last year's Contest, OGAE Australia will be hosting the event and have released the artwork, tag line "Dream Together" and hashtags #DreamTogether#OGAESong22

Image credit: OGAE Australia

The first order of business for the club is to choose an entry to represent Australia.

Fan club members submitted their nominations (which had to be songs that had been released since 1 January 2021) and a shortlist was developed.

The 12 shortlisted entries are:

1. 'Cloudy Day' - Tones and I

2. 'Glow' - Jessica Mauboy

3. 'Cut' - Jaguar Jonze

4. 'Overtime' - Alfie Arcuri

5. 'Just in Case' - Timmy Trumpet

6. 'Temper' - Vera Blue

7. 'I Know a Place (The Creek Song)' - Joff Bush & The Bluey Team feat. Helena Czajka & Jazz D'Arcy

8. 'Catastrophe' - Electric Fields

9. 'On My Knees' - Rüfüs du Sol

10. 'Closer' - Ngaiire

11. 'Clarity' - Vance Joy

12. 'A Second to Midnight' - Kylie Minogue and Years & Years

A Spotify playlist is available below:

The nominated songs include Eurovision alumni Jessica Mauboy and Australia Decides stars Jaguar Jonze, Alfie Arcuri and Electric Fields.

Club members have until this Thursday to vote and if you've not joined yet, head to to find out how you can.

The winner of this year's contest will join previous winners such as French star Mylène Farmer, Turin 2022 host Laura Pausini from Italy as well as a number of UK artists including Dua Lipa, Adele, Coldplay, Steps and Lewis Capaldi.

The United Kingdom have won the most contest with seven titles including three in a row from 2018 to 2020.

For continued updates on all the Eurovision news follow Aussievision on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. All links at:


bottom of page