top of page
  • Writer's pictureKyriakos Tsinivits

Aussievision’s ESC250 2021 rankings

Every New Year's Eve, Eurovision fans across the globe tune in to ESCRadio to hear the top 250 Eurovision songs as voted by fans.

The poll has been running for over a decade, with the voting component currently organised by Belgian Eurovision site,

We went to 18 members of the Aussievision team to find out how they voted in this year's countdown. We've collated the results and compiled an Aussievision ESC250 Top 10.

One thing is for sure: the team has a wide-ranging Eurovision taste with 14 different songs getting douze points. Songs awarded 12 points by the team that missed a spot in our top 10 include:

  • Pearl Carr & Teddy Johnson - ‘Sing, Little Birdie’ (1959) - Ford

  • Celine Dion - ‘Ne partez pas sans moi’ (1988) - Steve

  • Sertab Erener - ‘Everyway That I Can’ (2003) - Mike

  • Inga & Anush - 'Jan Jan’ (2009) - Josh

  • Lena - ‘Satellite' (2010) - Estelle

  • Zlata Ognevich - ‘Gravity’ (2013) - Liv

  • Il Volo - ‘Grande amore’ (2015) - Hugo

  • Maraaya - ‘Here For You’ (2015) - Tim

  • Sergey Lazarev - 'You Are the Only One’ (2016) - Dale

  • Eugent Bushpepa - ‘Mall’ (2018) - Wade

  • Go_A - ‘Solovey’ (2020) - Fleur

  • Lesley Roy - ‘Maps’ (2021) - Ally

Another song that missed out on a place in the top 10 despite earning 20 points was ‘Fai rumore’, Diodato's entry for Italy at the cancelled 2020 Contest. It scored two sets of seven points and a set of six points.

Let's take a look at the Aussievision team’s ESC250 ranked songs for 2021:

10. Paula Seling & Ovi - 'Playing With Fire' (2010) 20 points

Highs: 10 points from Craig and Wade

'Playing With Fire’ last made an appearance in the ESC250 in 2019 when it made a climb of nine places to No. 130. It is Romania’s equal best-placed entry at Eurovision, reaching third in the 2010 Contest. It shares this achievement with ‘Let Me Try’ by Luminița Anghel and Sistem, who also placed in third place at the 2005 Contest for Romania. (Despite earning the same number of points as 'Fai rumore', 'Playing With Fire’ snuck into the top 10 because its two individual scores of 10 points were higher than the individual scores awarded to the Italian entry.)

9. Loic Nottet - 'Rhythm Inside' (2015) 20 points

Highs: 12 points from Craig

‘Rhythm Inside’ is a popular entry in the ESC250. In 2017 it hit the Top 10. It climbed to No. 7 in 2018 before jumping up another spot to No.6 in 2019. It tumbled to No. 11 last year. Australian televotes placed the song second at Eurovision in 2015 ‘Rhythm Inside’ behind ‘Heroes’, and it is clearly still a favourite in the Aussievision team.

8. Go_A - 'Shum' (2021) 27 points

‘Shum’ is an entry that made a huge impact within the Eurovision fandom, and we expect it to make an appearance in the ESC250. The Ukrainian entry scored points from both the Australian televising public (10 points) and Australian jury (5 points). It's not surprising it ranks in the top 10 among the Aussievision team.

7. KEiiNO - 'Spirit in the Sky' (2019) 29 points

Highs: 10 points from Cooper, 8 points from Ally

‘Spirit in the Sky’ by KEiiNO is an Aussie favourite, and also makes it into our top 10. The Norwegian entry scored douze points from the Australian televoting public in 2019. The song has remained in the top 5 since its debut in ESC250 countdown.

6. Eleni Foureira - 'Fuego' (2018) 30 points

Highs: 12 points from Hayley

It wouldn’t be a Eurovision Top 10 without the epic staging and choreography of ‘Fuego’ by Eleni Foureira. The song received points from five team members. ‘Fuego’ jumped back up a spot to No. 2 in last year's ESC250 countdown, pushing down the winning song from Eurovision 2019, ‘Arcade’.

5. Måns Zelmerlöw - 'Heroes' (2015) 31 points

Highs: 12 points from Emma and Kyriakos

‘Heroes’ hits the Top 5 in our team rankings. It remains a popular entry among the Australian fandom that got to see him perform ‘Heroes’ live at ‘Eurovision - Australia Decides’ in 2020. The last Swedish entry to win Eurovision, 'Heroes' dropped out of the Top 20 in last year's ESC250, landing at No. 23.

4. Måneskin - 'Zitti e buoni' (2021) 36 points

Highs: 10 points from Liv, 8 points from Fleur

This year's Eurovision-winning song storms in at No. 4 in our Aussievision rankings. ‘Zitti e buoni' is a hot favourite to topple the almost decade-long reign of ‘Euphoria’ at No.1 on the ESC250. We will have to wait and see.

3. Loreen - 'Euphoria' (2012) 36 points

Highs: 10 points from Steve, 8 points from Josh and Hugo

‘Euphoria’ has not been taken off the top spot since its debut on the ESC250 in 2012. It remains a favourite with the Aussievision team. Can ‘Euphoria’ make it to No.1 for a tenth year in a row? Or will Måneskin snatch the crown?

2. Kate Miller-Heidke - 'Zero Gravity' (2019) 39 points

Highs: 12 points from Cooper, 10 points from Craig and Ford

One of the most impressive stage performances that wowed both fans of Eurovision, and newcomers to the Contest. Kate Miller-Heidke clearly impressed us Aussies by getting up on her pole and singing her operatic ‘Zero Gravity’ above Earth’s thermosphere. ‘Zero Gravity’ scored points from five out of the 18 Aussievision team members. ’Zero Gravity’ dropped to No. 89 in last year's ESC250 after making its debut at No. 52 the previous year.

1. Dami Im - 'Sound of Silence' - 2016 (44 points)

Highs: 12 points from Guy, 10 points from Dale

Australia’s best result thus far at Eurovision! Dami Im’s 2016 runner-up performance of ‘Sound of Silence’ scored the highest amount of points from the Aussievision team with six team members giving the song points. Scores ranged from five points to 12. ‘Sound of Silence’ reached its peak in the ESC250 in 2016 at No.15. Last year Dami Im remained in the top 30 where it placed at No. 29.

Did your favourites feature in our top 10?

Want to see your favourite Eurovision entries do well in the ESC250 this year? You need to vote and then listen to the ESC250 countdown on New Years Eve.

There’s not long to go, so be sure to vote soon.

Voting closes on December 5 23.59 CET that is December 6 at 9.59am AEDT in Australia.

Vote here on the website. You may need to login with a Google or Facebook account to ensure there are no spam votes.


bottom of page