top of page
  • Writer's pictureaussievision

First Super Saturday wrap up

With two artists chosen, a number of other national finals on as well artists announcement it was a big Saturday (and Sunday in Australia) for Eurovision fans.

Here's a summary of what happened.


19-year-old Bilal Hassani won Destination Eurovision by storming the televote after finishing fifth in the juries. Read more here.


Michela Pace won the X Factor Malta booking her place to Tel Aviv. The 17-year-old will now sign a deal with Sony with her song for Eurovision still to come.


The first semi final of Supernova took place overnight with four acts going through to the final. They were:

  • Laime Pilnīga - "Awe"

  • Edgars Kreilis - "Cherry Absinthe"

  • Aivo Oskis - "Somebody's Got My Lover"

  • Samanta Tīna - "Cutting the Wire"


Heat two of A Dal 2019 took place overnight with six acts moving on to the semi finals.

Fatal Error with "Kulcs" won the heat with 9 points across the board while the other four jury choices being:

  • Acoustic Planet - "Nyári zápor"

  • The Middletonz - "Roses"

  • Bence Vavra - "Szótlanság"

  • The Sign - "Ő"

While yesyes with 'Incomplete' was saved by the public.


Heat three of Eurovizijos Atranka took place and we saw the first song of the competition get 12 points with both the televote and the jury. That was:

Jurijus - "Run with the Lions"

Fan favourite Monika Marija - "Criminal" also got through finishing 2nd.

Recorded version of 'Run with the Lions' below.


Iceland announced the songs and artists competing in Songvakeppnin this year.

They include Hera Bjork who represented Iceland in 2010 and Friðrik Ómar who also performed at Eurovision in 2008 as part of 'Euroband' .

  1. Daniel Oliver – Samet Eki (Licky Licky)

  2. Elli Grill, Skaði, Glymur – Jeijó, keyrum alla leið

  3. Friðrik Ómar – Hvað ef eg get ekki elskað (What If I Can’t Have Love)

  4. Hatari – Hatrið mun siga

  5. Heidrun Anna Björnsdóttir – Helgi (Sunday Boy)

  6. Hera Björk – Eitt Andartak (Moving On)

  7. Ívar Daníels – þú Bætir mig (Make Me Whole)

  8. Kristina Skoubo Bærendsen’s – Ég á Mig Sjálf (Mama Said)

  9. Tara Mobee – Betri án þín (Fighting for love)

  10. Þórdís Imsland – Nú og hér (What are you waiting for)

bottom of page