top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmma Garrie

Sweden: Melodifestivalen 2024 Heat 5 results and Grand Finalists revealed

Image Source: SVT

This morning saw Heat 5 of Sweden’s Eurovision national selection show ‘Melodifestivalen’ take place at Löfbergs Arena, Karlstad.

Six acts competed but only four could remain in the competition by the night’s conclusion.

Marcus & Martinus and Medina finished in the top two positions and move directly through to the Grand Final.

Annika Wickihalder and Jay Smith finished in third and fourth place respectively and won the chance to compete again in the final qualification that was held after tonight's show.

In fifth and sixth place were Chelsea Muco and Elecktra who were both eliminated from the competition.

Results wrap up

Direct to final

Marcus & Martinus - 'Unforgettable'

Medina - 'Que Sera'

Final Qualification

Annika Wickihalder - 'Light'

Jay Smith - 'Back To My Roots'


Chelsea Muco - 'Controlla'

Elecktra - 'Banne Maj'

Final Qualification

At the end of tonight's heat, a final qualification round took place consisting of the third- and fourth-placing songs from each of the five heats.

These songs were -

  • Elisa Lindström - 'Forever Yours'

  • Adam Woods - 'Supernatural'

  • Dear Sara - 'The Silence After You'

  • Fröken Snusk - 'Unga & fria'

  • Klaudy - 'För dig'

  • Gunilla Persson - 'I Won't Shake (La La Gunilla)'

  • Albin Tingwall - 'Done Getting Over You'

  • Scarlet - 'Circus X'

  • Annika Wickihalder - 'Light'

  • Jay Smith - 'Back To My Roots'

Whilst the artists were not required to perform again, the voting lines were opened up once more for these ten songs only, with the results from the heats contributing to the new round of voting.

Annika Wickihalder and Jay Smith were the two artists that received the most votes from this process and their songs will join the top two from each of the five heats in next week's Grand Final.

Grand Finalists

We now have our 12 finalists for next week's Grand Final!

Our finalists are -

  • Smash Into Pieces - 'Heroes Are Calling'

  • Lisa Ajax - 'Awful Liar'

  • LIAMOO - 'Dragon'

  • Maria Sur - 'When I'm Gone'

  • Jacqline - 'Effortless'

  • Cazzi Opeia - 'Give My Heart a Break'

  • Danny Saucedo - 'Happy That You Found Me'

  • Dotter - 'It's Not Easy to Write a Love Song'

  • Marcus & Martinus - 'Unforgettable'

  • Medina - 'Que Sera'

  • Annika Wickihalder - 'Light'

  • Jay Smith - 'Back To My Roots'

You can watch all performances on the Swedish broadcaster's SVT Play

The Grand Final of Melodifestivalen takes place next Saturday 9th March.

For continued updates on all the Eurovision Song Contest news follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and TikTok. All links at:


bottom of page