top of page
  • hugojburstin

Marius Bear will represent Switzerland at Eurovision 2022

Swiss broadcaster SRF has announced that 28-year-old singer-songwriter Marius Bear will fly the flag in Turin with his song 'Boys Do Cry'.

'Boys Do Cry' is a self-penned track in English, written alongside Canadian-German musician Martin Gallop, who himself has released six studio albums.

The song contains very heartfelt lyrics and Marius' smooth voice is accompanied with some paired back production to create quite an atmospheric entry. We know Switzerland has nailed its staging for the past few entries, so you'd best hope they've got something special planned!

Who is Marius Bear?

Marius Hügli, aka Marius Bear, is a 28 year old singer-songwriter from the Appenzell Innerrhoden in Switzerland's north-east. Marius is actually a trained construction machinery mechanic, but he plays the guitar and studied music production at the British and Irish Modern Music Institute.

He gained popularity after appearing on the RTL TV show 'I Can See Your Voice'. Marius has released two studio albums in 2018 and 2019, and is due to release a third album in the coming months to tie in with his Eurovision appearance. Marius also won in 2019 the award for Best Talent at the Swiss Music Awards.

How was the song selected?

Switzerland has used the same successful process this year as the past few. Two juries, each with 50% say, vote on the selected shortlist by the broadcaster. The first jury is made up of 100 Swiss viewers, and the other is made up of international Eurovision experts, who have to be either a former artist/songwriter or have been on a national jury.

The international expert jury is as follows:

  • Ilinca – Romania 2017 artist

  • Ovidiu Jacobsen – Romania 2010 & 2014 artist

  • PAENDA – Austria 2019 artist

  • Helga Möller – Iceland 1986 artist

  • Tinkara Kovač – Slovenia 2014 artist

  • Ludmila Kuts – Backing singer for Belarus in 2011

  • Pete Watson – United Kingdom

  • Mark De-Lisser – United Kingdom

  • Henrik Johnsson – Sweden

  • Grzegorz Urban – Poland

  • Argyro Christodoulides – Cyprus

  • Amie Borgar – Finland

  • Gore Melian – Armenia

  • Milan Havrda – Czech Republic

  • Julian le Play – Austria

  • Samuli Väänänen – Finland

  • Florent Luyckx – Netherlands

  • Karl-Ander Reismann – Estonia

  • Deivydas Zvonkus – Lithuania

  • Anders Øhrstrøm – Denmark

  • Maria Marcus – Sweden

  • Alexey Gross – Belarus

  • Gordon Groothedde – Netherlands

Switzerland at the Eurovision Song Contest

Switzerland is one of the founding members of Eurovision, hosting and winning the very first edition in 1956. They have won the Contest twice; in 1956 with Lys Assia's 'Refrain', and in 1988 with 'Ne Partez Pas Sans Moi' by the iconic Céline Dion. Switzerland has done very well in recent years, placing 4th in 2019 with Luca Hänni's 'She Got Me', and went one better in 3rd at the 2021 Contest (including 1st with the jury vote) with Gjon's Tears' 'Tout l'Univers'.

Be sure to follow @aussievisionnet on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube and Instagram for up to date news on Eurovision 2022.


bottom of page