top of page
  • Writer's pictureKiel Egging

Reiley to represent Denmark at Eurovision 2023 with 'Breaking My Heart'

Reiley has won Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2023 with his song 'Breaking My Heart' and will represent Denmark at Eurovision in Liverpool in May.

Reiley prevailed over Nicklas Sonne and Micky Skeel in the Super Final, following votes from the jury and the public.

The Danes' official Eurovision contest was televised by broadcaster DR and featured eight artists who performed at Arena Næstved in Zealand this morning.

The artists and their songs were:

  1. Frederik Leopold – 'Stuck On You'

  2. EYJAA – 'I Was Gonna Marry Him'

  3. Micky Skeel – 'Glansbillede'

  4. Maia Maia – 'Beautiful Bullshit'

  5. Nicklas Sonne – 'Freedom'

  6. Mariyah LeBerg – 'Human'

  7. Søren Torpegaard Lund – 'Lige Her'

  8. Reiley – 'Breaking My Heart'

Following a trip around the country to collect the public voting results, Nicklas Sonne, Reiley and Micky Skeel were announced as the qualifers for the Super Final - and they performed again ahead of a fresh round of public voting and the DMGP jury determining the winner.

While the votes were counted, Eurovision's 2022 winners, Ukraine's Kalush Orchestra performed their winning track 'Stefania' as special guest performers.

The overall results then filtered through, with ReIley prevailing with 43 per cent of the vote, followed by Nicklas on 34 per cent, and Micky with 23 per cent.

Reiley was the Aussievision team's favourite to win DMGP in our rankings article before this morning's contest.

He was caught up in controversy and was almost disqualified from DMGP after he revealed on his Instagram page that he previously performed 'Breaking My Heart' live during a festival in Seoul, South Korea last year.

But broadcaster DR felt he wouldn't have an unfair advantage and let him continue.

Reiley will be heading to Liverpool in May looking to reclaim the Eurovision crown for Denmark, 10 years after Emmelie de Forest triumphed with 'Only Teardrops' in 2013.

Denmark has also won Eurovision on two other occassions, with The Olsen Brothers' 'Fly On The Wings Of Love' in 2000, and Grethe & Jørgen Ingmann's victory all the way back in 1963 with 'Dansevisve'.

Reiley will also be looking to boost Denmark's recent form in the competition - the Danes haven't qualified for the Eurovision grand final since 2019.

Straight after being announced as the winner, Reiley said: "Let's have a song from Denmark that can qualify for the finals, and let's do this, I'll make you proud."

For continued updates on all the Eurovision Song Contest news follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and TikTok. All links at:


bottom of page