• Kyriakos Tsinivits

Måneskin set to be first Eurovision winners since ABBA to be musical guests on 'Saturday Night Live'



On January 22, the Italian Eurovision winning act, Måneskin, are set to be the musical guests on 'Saturday Night' Live on NBC.


The band will be joined by Will Forte, who will be hosting the show. The former 'Saturday Night Live' cast member is also known for starring in '30 Rock', 'The Lego Movie' films and as the star lead role in his comedy film 'MacGruber'.



It will be the first time in 47 years that a Eurovision winning act will perform on the American comedy show.


Eurovision 1974 winners ABBA actually performed on the very first season of 'Saturday Night Live' in episode five which aired on November 15 1975, just 18 months after their Eurovision win for Sweden.




The show was hosted by the stand-up comedian, actor and singer Robert Klein. ABBA performed 'SOS' and their Eurovision winning song 'Waterloo' during a skit about the sinking of the Titanic. Check out the performances above.


Måneskin had a huge year in 2021. They won the Sanremo Music Festival and the Eurovision Song Contest, their cover of 'Beggin' went viral scoring them a top 20 single on the US Billboard Hot 100 chart, they were part of the Grammy nominations ceremony and were awarded their first MTV Music Award, just to name a few feats.


The band are set to continue their run of huge success. They have already been announced as part of the music line up for Coachella 2022 in California on April 17 and 24. Other acts announced for those dates include Ye (Kanye West), Doja Cat, Kim Petras and Fatboy Slim to to name a few.

Catch Måneskin on NBC's 'Saturday Night Live' on January 22, 2022 at 11:30ET, 10:30CT, 9:30MT 8:30PT.