top of page
  • Writer's pictureKyriakos Tsinivits

Eurovision Young Musicians 2022: All you need to know

Photo credit: Ryan Buchanan

Do you know much about Eurovision Young Musicians? Or is this the first time that you’re hearing about it? Then you must have a lot of questions! We here at Aussievision have produced an overview explaining what the competition is all about.

So, what exactly is Eurovision Young Musicians?

The competition has been held every two years since 1982. It is an international classical music event aimed at offering the broadest possible stage to talented young classical musicians, helping them embark on an international career.

Previous winners of the Eurovision Young Musicians competition have gone on to enjoy huge success on the world stage; they include Julian Rachlin (violin), Natalie Clein (cello) and Eivind Holtsmark Ringstad (viola).

The first Eurovision Young Musicians was held in Manchester (UK) on June 11, 1982. Since then it has been held six times in Vienna (Austria), three times in Germany (once in Berlin and twice in Cologne), twice in Switzerland (Geneva and Lucerne) and the United Kingdom (Manchester and Edinburgh) and once in Denmark, Netherlands, Belgium, Poland, Portugal, Norway and France.

The last winner of the Eurovision Young Musicians was Ivan Bessonov from Russia back in 2018 when he competed at the Usher Hall in Edinburgh.

So, when is the next competition?

The 20th edition of Eurovision Young Musicians is to take place in July 2022 at the Festival Radio France Occitanie in Montpellier. France Télévisions will host the competition, with the event being produced in partnership with the Festival Radio France Occitanie Montpellier, Radio France and Telewizja Polska.

The Eurovision Young Musicians Final will be broadcast live on Saturday, July 23 (European time). The event will see talented young classical musicians aged between 12 and 21 years old compete.

It will be hosted by French playwright Judith Chaine and Belgian radio presenter Vincent Delbushaye, and feature the Montpellier Occitanie National Opera Orchestra conducted by Pierre Dumoussaud.

Hosts Judith Chaine and Vincent Delbushaye

Is the format just like the Eurovision Song Contest?

Well, not exactly. Each country is represented by one young musician. They perform a piece of classical music of their choice, accompanied by the local orchestra of the host broadcaster. A jury, composed of international experts, selects the top three participants.

From 1986 to 2012 and again in 2018, a semi-final round took place a few days before the Final, with the jury deciding which countries would qualify.

Back in 2014, there was a preliminary round which saw the jury score each musician and performance; however, all participating countries automatically qualified for the Final.

The semi-final elimination stage of the competition was expected to return in 2016. However, the semi-finals were later removed due to the low number of participating countries that year.

Is the jury set up similar to the Eurovision Song Contest?

No, there are only five jury members in total that make up the professional jury. They are Müza Rubackyté (Jury Chair and a violinist from Lithuania), Nora Cismondi (an oboist from Switzerland), Jean-Pierre Rousseau (Director of the Festival Radio France Montpellier from France), Christian-Pierre La Marca (a cellist from France) and Tedi Papavrani (a violinist from Albania).

Who will be competing?

There are nine participating countries in this year’s competition. Let's run through the countries, musicians, instruments and pieces that will be heard on the night (by running order):

  1. Croatia - Ivan Petrović-Poljak - piano - Liszt: Piano Concerto No. 1 in E flat minor

  2. France - Maxime Grizard - cello - Dvorak: Concerto for violoncello

  3. Poland - Milena Pioruńska - violin - Wieniawski: Violin Concerto No. 2 in D minor

  4. Germany - Philipp Schupelius - cello - Tchaikovsky: Pezzo Capriccioso op.62

  5. Austria - Alexander Svetnitsky-Ehrenreich - clarinet - Carl Maria von Weber: Concerto No. 2 for clarinet in E flat major, 3rd movement 'Alla Polacca'

  6. Norway - Alma Serafin Kraggerud - violin - Camille Saint-Saëns: Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso op.28

  7. Belgium - Thaïs Defoort - cello - Cello concerto in E minor op.85 1st movement

  8. Sweden - Lukas Flink - trombone - Tomasi: Trombone Concerto – 1st movement, Andante and Scherzo-Valse

  9. Czech Republic - Daniel Matejča - violin - Chostakovich: Violin Concerto No. 1 3rd and 4th movements Cadenza, Allegro con brio – Presto

Where can I watch it?

A select number of broadcasters will be showcasing the competition, some live and some by a delayed telecast.

So far, the countries set to broadcast the Eurovision Young Musicians 2022 live are Belgium (La Trois), Czech Republic (ČT art), France (Culturebox), Norway (NRK1), and Poland (TVP Kultura).

The following countries will delay broadcast the contest Germany (WDR Fernsehen) and Austria (ORF 2) on July 24 and Sweden (SVT2) on July 30.

For continued updates on all the Eurovision news follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. All links at:


bottom of page