top of page
  • Writer's pictureaussievision

Kate qualifies!

The first semi final of Eurovision 2019 is over and our very own Kate Miller-Heidke has qualified after wowing Europe with her modern pop-opera classic with stunning staging.

The full ten qualifiers were (not in order):

  1. Greece

  2. Cyprus

  3. Belarus

  4. Estonia

  5. Czech Republic

  6. Serbia

  7. Australia

  8. San Marino

  9. Iceland

  10. Slovenia

The results are revealed in random order so there are no clues on who may win on Saturday night.

The surprise qualifiers we would judge as San Marino (only the second time they have qualified), Belarus and perhaps Estonia who didn't have his best performance on the night.

Also the last third of the semi dominated the qualifying with five of the last six performers getting through.

Australia maintains it's 100% qualifying record, only matched by Ukraine who isn't competing this year. Kate in the press conference said she was "floating on air" and said the crowd singing along was "one of the most joyful noises I've ever heard."

Kate drew second half in the Eurovision Grand Final. A great result for Australia as generally a later running order helps keep your song fresh in the mind of voters.

The semi final got off to a flyer with an energetic opening by last year's winner Netta. 1998 winner Dana International also performed doing a cover of Bruno Mars's classic 'Just the Way You Are'

Kate will perform in the Grand Final on Saturday night European time, Sunday morning 5am (AEST) Australian time.

You can also watch our reaction to the qualifiers being announced:

bottom of page